facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
Campus Life

Martin Luther King Jr. Convocation

2015 Martin Luther King Jr. Convocation

This year's Martin Luther King, Jr. Convocation keynote speaker will be Dr. William H. Smith. Dr. Smith is the founding executive director of the National Center for Race Amity based at Wheelock College in Boston, Ma. His prior higher education assignment was as executive director of the Center for Diversity in the Communication Industries at Emerson College also located in Boston, MA. 

He has received awards from numerous organizations including the International Academy of Communications Arts and Sciences, the National Association for Black Veterans, Black Filmmakers Hall of Fame, and Screen Actors Guild Diversity in Production Award, National Association of Government Communicators, and the National Education Association. He was presented with “The Key to the City of Greenville, S.C.” his home town in 2007. Dr. Smith was selected as the Balfour Scholar by the Balfour Foundation, Bank America Trustee. From 2009 to 2011 Dr. Smith served as keynote speaker and workshop leader at the annual Leadership Conference for Afro and Indigenous Colombian Fulbright Scholars held in Bogota, Colombia. 
Presently, along with the NCRA core mission activities Dr. Smith is providing leadership to the initiative Towards E pluribus Unum which he organized. The National Center for Race Amity (NCRA) launched three interrelated initiatives to support Toward E Pluribus Unum. The first initiative developed the annual Boston Race Amity Celebration on the Rose Kennedy Greenway. The second initiative is to have the second Sunday in June established as National Race Amity Day through a Joint Resolution of Congress and/or Presidential Proclamation. The third initiative of Toward E Pluribus Unum was to organize and host an annual National Race Amity Conference which has been held in Boston, Massachusetts since 2011 

Smith is presently serving as executive producer of the documentary, An American Story: Race Amity and The Other Tradition, for air on public television in 2015.

You will have a chance to hear Dr. Smith at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Convocation Tuesday, January 20, 2015 in Cowan Hall.

Martin Luther King Jr. Peace & Justice Awards

Nominations were accepted through January 11 for the 2013 Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace and Justice Awards. Otterbein University promotes individual self-awareness and responsibility to and for the greater society. It encourages faculty, staff, and students to educate themselves and demonstrate humane values, much like Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. The Award for Peace and Justice established in his honor is presented annually at the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Convocation to members of the Otterbein community who demonstrate the ideals he represented.

Learn more about the award.

Martin Luther King Jr. Multimedia Essay & Art Contest

Otterbein University’s Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Convocation Committee is pleased to announce the 4th annual MLK Multimedia, Essay & Arts Contest. The contest allows high school students (grades 9-12) to showcase their talents through art (drawing, sculpture, etc.), an essay or poetry, or multimedia (a song or dance for example). The 2014-15 convocation theme is Race Amity: The Hidden Tradition.

Amity (n) is defined as friendly relations between nations or groups; goodwill. Express an example(s) of Race Amity and how it has positively impacted your life, your family, your friends, or your community. Students must submit a multimedia presentation, essay/poem, or work of art that symbolizes and represents the question above or the second component under Guidelines. Prizes will be awarded to the top entry per category or the top three entries if all categories are not represented. See guidelines for rules and regulations in the attachment below.

Past Speakers:

/ Office of Diversity

The Office of Diversity is located in Student Affairs in Hanby Hall.

Office Hours

M-F: 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. (academic year)

M-F: 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. (summer)

Dr. Lisa Patterson Phillips
p / 614.823.1250

James E. Prysock
Assistant Director
p / 614.823.1312

/ Additional Info