facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
 
The Graduate School

Audit a Class

The Graduate School permits students to audit classes. Not all courses are available to audit. Students cannot audit clinical classes or courses using significant technology. An audit may not be substituted for a required class; the required class must be taken for credit. The 2014-15 cost to audit a course is $130 per credit hour.

The Graduate School Course Audit Application and Registration Form is here. It is the student’s responsibility to contact the course instructor and obtain his or her signature on the form. Once the form is completed and signed by both the instructor and the student, the student must submit the form to the Graduate School.

The instructor has the discretion to deny the audit request. The Office of the Registrar will determine whether there is room in the class and that necessary prerequisites are met. All requests are subject to the final approval by the Registrar. Students will receive confirmation or declination shortly after the registration is processed. While no credit is given for auditing a course, a grade of AU will appear on the transcript record.

Directions:

  1. Any student interested in auditing a graduate class must complete the combined application/registration form only.
  2. The applicant must submit proof that they have obtained a Bachelor's degree. An unofficial transcript, official transcript, or diploma copy will suffice.
  3. Any student seeking to audit a class is responsible for obtaining instructor permission prior to submitting the form to the Graduate School. The instructor’s signature is required, permitting the student to take the class. The instructor has the discretion to decline the request. The student also must sign the form, confirming that they are responsible for the tuition fees associated with each course.
  4. The student must submit the completed form along with their proof of Bachelor’s degree to the Graduate School for processing.

/ The Graduate School

The Graduate School is located in Roush Hall, room 208.

Office Hours
M-F: 8:30 am – 5:00 pm

Contact
p/ 614.823.3210
e/ grad@otterbein.edu

/ Personnel

Barbara Schaffner
Dean
p/ 614.823.1735
e/ bschaffner@otterbein.edu

Kate Carey
Associate Dean
p/ 614.823.3209
e/ kcarey@otterbein.edu

Terry Magas
Assistant to the Dean
p/ 614.823.3274
e/ tmagas@otterbein.edu

Gaby Miller
Graduate Education Recruiter/Counselor MAT
p/ 614.823.1346
e/ gmiller@otterbein.edu

Dorothy Crider

Graduate Nursing Admission Recruiter/Counselor
p/ 614.823.3272
e/ dcrider@otterbein.edu

Amy Featherstone
Graduate Education and MAEM Recruiter/Counselor MAE
p/ 614.823.3271
e/ afeatherstone@otterbein.edu

Patricia Hohlbein
MBA and Allied Health Program Recruiter
p/ 614.823.1095
e/ phohlbein@otterbein.edu

Deb Williams
Admission and Data Management Coordinator
p/ 614.823.3270
e/ dwilliams@otterbein.edu