Keep up to Date with our Programs

 Follow Otterbein University Graduate Nursing Programs on social media


facebook2

Get to Know Our Faculty & Staff

Graduate Admission Counselor/Recruiter

Dorothy Crider Fleming MS, RN
Graduate Nursing Admission Counselor/Recruiter
p/ 614.823.3272
e/ dcriderfleming@otterbein.edu
"I love assisting nurses to discover their next career step and finding the educational program to take them there."
Areas of interest: thought field therapy, complementary therapies, spiritual care and preventative health care.

Administrative Support

Maureen Kaiser
Administrative Coordinator
p/ 614.823.1188
e/ mkaiser@otterbein.edu

Full Time Nursing Faculty

  • Kay Ball, PhD, RN, CNOR FAAN

    Associate Professor
    p/ 614.823.1213
    e/ KBall@otterbein.edu
    Office: Roush Hall 439A

    Areas of interest: perioperative nursing, legislative activities.

  • Kacy Ballard, MSN, CRNA

    Assistant Director, Otterbein University/Grant Medical Center Nurse Anesthesia Program
    p/ 614.823.1614
    e/ kballard@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center

    "One thing I love about being a CRNA is that every day is different.  It is an exhilarating profession that calls for critical thinking, dedication, teamwork, and attention to detail. Whether I’m in the clinical setting or the classroom, I have a great sense of professional pride and accomplishment."

  • Susan Butz, DNP, RN, CCRN

    Associate Professor, BSN Program Director
    p/ 614.823.1353
    e/ SButz@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center 445B

    Areas of interest: critical care, emergency room care, nursing education and women's health.

  • Ruth Chavez, DNP, RN

    Associate Professor
    p/ 614.823.1453
    e/ RChavez@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center, 439D

    Areas of interest: child health, medically fragile child, developmental disabilities and clinical immersion experiences.

    “What I love about nursing is the creativity and autonomy that the nursing profession provides. We are constantly teaching our patients how they can help themselves and promoting wellness and health through the lifespan."

  • John D. Chovan, PhD, DNP, RN, CNP, CNS, PMHNP-BC, PMHCNS-BC, ACHPN, AHN-BC

    Assistant Professor, Director DNP program
    p/ 614.823.1526
    e/ jchovan@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center 445D

    Areas of interest: psychiatric & mental health nursing, palliative care, nursing models, gerontology, holistic nursing, health care systems, leadership, quantitative/qualitative research, thinking and learning, and technology. 

    “What I love about nursing is the energy I get from my patients and their families. Working with persons dealing with chronic and life-limiting illness, particularly as they approach the end of their lives is amazing work. I'm tired at the end of the day, but my soul is so rejuvenated and content. Every day.”

  • Eva M. Fried, DNP, MS, RN, WHNP-BC

    Assistant Professor
    p/ 614.823.2531
    e/ efried@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center, 439E

    "For me the most invigorating thing about nursing is the ability to critically analyze research and bring it to the bedside or office/clinic/community in a meaningful way that impacts the life of an indvidual patient."

    Areas of interest: Women's health, out of hospital birth, sexual health, menopause, adolescent contraception, evidence-based practice, mentoring of APRNs, educational methods.

  • Brian Garrett, DNP, MSN, RN, CRNA

    Program Director, Otterbein University/Grant Nurse Anesthesia Program
    p/ 614.823.1326
    e/ BGarrett@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center, 240

    "What I love about my profession in that there is always a learning opportunity.  You will never know everything.  No matter how experienced you are, something can and will come along and humble you.  For this reason, respect for what you do must be maintained at all times."

    Areas of interest: anesthesia (adult), anesthesia machine, and anesthesia pharmacology.

  • Jackie Haverkamp, DNP, RN, CNP, NHA

    Associate Professor, Department Chair
    p/ 614.823.1628
    e/ JHaverkamp@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center, 445C

    "Having both an administrative and clinical practice background allows me the privilege of working with students who have varied interests in: Medical-Surgical Nursing; Emergency Nursing; Gerontology; Hospice and related Oncology Care; Nursing Education; Health Care Management."

  • Karen Hughes, PhD, MSN; RN, CNE

    Assistant Professor, Assistant BSN Director, Director of Clinical Nurse Leader Program
    p/ 614.823.1539
    e/ khughes@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center, 436B

    "I am a champion for the CNL role in Central Ohio and enjoy collaborating with students on their CNL projects."

    Areas of interest: medical surgical nursing; renal failure and diabetes; educational methods; incivility in higher education.

  • Kirk A. Hummer, DNP, MBA, RN, CNP

    Assistant Professor
    p/ 614.823.1644
    e/ khummer@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center

    "I love the nursing professional and the ever changing healthcare environment. It’s a great time to be a nurse, we are going to have a big impact on our community and the nation as a whole"

    Areas of interest: Emergency and Urgent care practice, procedural skills for APRNs, Student heath and Healthcare Administration.

  • Leigh Anne Meyer, MS, RN

    Instructor
    p/ 614.823.1277
    e/ lmeyer1@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center 445A

  • Regina Prusinski, DNP, CPNP-AC

    Assistant Professor
    p/ 614.823.1388
    e/ rprusinski@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center 436D

    "Yesterday a nursing student asked me why I chose to work with children. Today I had an answer. I couldn't not nurse children. At times it can break my heart, but it always fulfills my soul's need to help, heal, and make a real difference in someone's life."

    Areas of interest: pediatric critical care, congenital cardiac populations, and evidence based practice.

  • Barbara Schaffner, Ph.D., CNP

    Dean of Professional Studies & The Graduate School, Dean, the Graduate School & School of Professional Studies
    p/ 614.823.1735
    e/ BSchaffner@otterbein.edu
    Office: Roush 208

  • Charlene Seevers, MSN, RN, CNL

    Instructor
    p/ 614.823.1230
    e/ cseevers@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center 436C

  • Joy Shoemaker, DNP, RN, CRNP

    Instructor, Advanced Practice Director
    p/ 614.823.1912
    e/ JShoemaker@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Building 439C

    Areas of interest: women’s health; maternal-child health; pediatric adolescent medicine; and community health.

  • Amy Smith, MSN, RN, CNE

    Instructor
    p/ 614.823.1426
    e/ asmith@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center, 436A

  • Christine Zamaripa, MSN, RN, C-EFM

    Instructor
    p/ 614.823.1433
    e/ czamaripa@otterbein.edu
    Office: Science Center, 439A

Support Staff

Skills Laboratory

Stephanie Justice, MSN, RN.
Skills Lab Supervisor
p/ 614.823.1226
e/ sjustice@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: Emergency response drills, med/surg renal, clinical drug trials.

Aimee Cerny, BSN, RN 
Nursing Skills Laboratory Instructor
p/ 614.823.1227 
e/ acerny@otterbein.edu 

Vanessa Johnson MSN, RN
Nursing Skills Laboratory Instructor
p/ 614.823.1228
e/ vjohnson@otterbein.edu 
"I love the nursing profession because you can do anything you want with it and take it anywhere you want to go while helping others."
 

Clinical Coordinators 

Alicia Martinez-Spencer, MS, CNP
p/ 614.823.1614
e/ amartinezspencer@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: Geriatric care and pallative care.

Holly Herron, DNP, MS, RN, CNS, CEN, CCRN, EMT-P 
p/ 614.823.1277 
e/ hherron@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: flight nursing; pre-hospital emergency care; emergency and critical care; nursing and pre-hospital education.

Graduate Admission Counselor/Recruiter

Dorothy Crider Fleming MS, RN
Graduate Nursing Admission Counselor/Recruiter
p/ 614.823.3272
e/ dcriderfleming@otterbein.edu
"I love assisting nurses to discover their next career step and finding the educational program to take them there."
Areas of interest: thought field therapy, complementary therapies, spiritual care and preventative health care.

Administrative Support

Maureen Kaiser
Administrative Coordinator
p/ 614.823.1188
e/ mkaiser@otterbein.edu

Joy Barrick
Academic Administrative Assistant
p/ 614.823.1614
e/ jbarrick@otterbein.edu