facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest

University Accreditation & Memberships

Otterbein University holds regional accreditation from The Higher Learning Commission, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604 (800-621-7440; hlcommission.org).

Otterbein University is authorized to offer Baccalaureate, Masters and the Doctorate of Nursing Practice degrees by the Ohio Department of Higher Education, 25 South Front Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (614-466-6000; ohiohighered.org).

Otterbein University holds disciplinary accreditation and approval through:

  • The American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • The American Chemical Society
  • The Commission on the Accreditation of Athletic Training Education Programs
  • The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
  • The Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs
  • The National Association of Schools of Music
  • The National Association of Schools of Theatre
  • The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation), and affiliated specialized professional associations, including:
    • American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
    • Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE)
    • Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
    • International Reading Association (IRA)
    • National Association for the Education for Young Children (NAEYC)
    • National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
    • National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
    • National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
    • National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
  • The National Strength and Conditioning Education Recognition Program
  • The Ohio Board of Nursing 

Additionally, Otterbein University belongs to the:

  • American Association of College for Teacher Education (AACTE)
  • American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) 
  • American Council on Education
  • Association of American Colleges and Universities
  • Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Ohio
  • Council of Graduate Schools
  • Council for Higher Education Accreditation 
  • Council of Independent Colleges
  • Council on Undergraduate Research
  • Ohio Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
  • Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges
  • Ohio Association of Private Colleges for Teacher Education
  • Midwest Association of Graduate Schools

Otterbein University is also approved by the University Senate of the United Methodist Church.

/ Fast Facts

Location / Westerville, OH
President / John Comerford, Ph.D.
Mascot / Cardy the Cardinal
Colors / Tan and Cardinal
Founded / 1847
Students / approx. 2,900
Students to faculty / 12:1
Majors / 74
Minors / 44
Graduate Programs / 8 - learn more