facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
 
Academics

Service Dogs

Service Dogs

The ADA defines a service animal as "a dog that has been individually trained to do work or perform tasks for an individual with a disability.  The task(s) performed by the dog must be directly related to the person's disability."

The handler is responsible for maintaining control of the animal and for caring for and supervising the service animal, which includes toileting, feeding, and grooming and veterinary care. Covered entities are not obligated to supervise or otherwise care for a service animal. 

Service animals are not required to be certified or registered, however university vaccination requirements are enforced for service dogs in the residence halls. Please contact Tracy Benner, the Residence Life director, at TBenner@otterbein.edu or (614) 823-1250.

Students may choose to voluntarily register their service animal with Disability Services to assist with advocacy and emergency evacuation. Please contact Kera Manley, the Disability Services Coordinator for more information at KManley@otterbein.edu or (614) 823-1618. 

For additional information, please visit the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division Disability Rights Section website for Frequently Asked Questions about Services Animals and the ADA

/ Academic Support Center

Courtright Memorial Library, 2nd Floor

 

Office Hours
M- F:  8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Phone
p / 614.823.1610
f / 614.823.1983

Staff
Kristy Drobney
Director
Library, Room #225
p / 614-823-1362
e / kdrobney@otterbein.edu

Beth Derringer
Coordinator, Math Support Services
Library, Room #215
p / 614.823.1823
bderringer@otterbein.edu

Beth Domanik
Administrative Assistant
Library, Room #229
p / 614-823-1610
e / edomanik@otterbein.edu 

Regina Kengla
Reading/Writing Specialist
Academic Support Center
Library, Room #226
p / 614-823-1883
e / rkengla@otterbein.edu


Kera McClain Manley
Coordinator, Disabilities Services
Library, Room #228
p / 614-823-1618
e / Kmanley@otterbein.edu

Mike Rue
Testing/Alt Media Coordinator
Library, Room #203
p / 614-823-1264
e / mrue@otterbein.edu