facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
 
Academics

Faculty and Staff

Kay Ball, PhD, RN, CNOR FAAN
p/ 614.823.1213
e/ kball@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: perioperative nursing, legislative activities.

Kacy Ballard, MSN, CRNA
Assistant director, Otterbein University/Grant Medical Center Nurse Anesthesia Program
p/614-566-9116
e/kballard@otterbein.edu
" One thing I love about being a CRNA is that every day is different.  It is an exhilarating profession that calls for critical thinking, dedication, teamwork, and attention to detail. Whether I’m in the clinical setting or the classroom, I have a great sense of professional pride and accomplishment."

Susan Butz, DNP, RN, CCRN
BSN program director
p/ 614.823.1353
e/ sbutz@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: critical care, emergency room care, nursing education and women's health.

Ruth Chavez, DNP, RN
p/ 614.823.1453
e/ rchavez@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: child health, medically fragile child, developmental disabilities and clinical immersion experiences.
“What I love about nursing is the creativity and autonomy that the nursing profession provides. We are constantly teaching our patients how they can help themselves and promoting wellness and health through the lifespan."

John D Chovan PhD DNP RN CNP CNS, PMHNP-BC, PMHCNS-BC, ACHPN, AHN-BC
Director DNP program
p/ 614.823.1526
e/ jchovan@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: psychiatric & mental health nursing, palliative care, nursing models, gerontology, holistic nursing, health care systems, leadership, quantitative/qualitative research, thinking and learning, and technology.
“What I love about nursing is the energy I get from my patients and their families. Working with persons dealing with chronic and life-limiting illness, particularly as they approach the end of their lives is amazing work. I'm tired at the end of the day, but my soul is so rejuvenated and content. Every day.”

Eva M. Fried, DNPc, MS, RN, WHNP-BC
p/614.823.2531
e/efried@otterbein.edu
" For me the most invigorating thing about nursing is the ability to critically analyze research and bring it to the bedside or office/clinic/community in a meaningful way that impacts the life of an indvidual patient."
Areas of interest:Women's health, out of hospital birth, sexual health, menopause, adolescent contraception, evidence-based practice, mentoring of APRNs, educational methods.

Brian Garrett, DNP, MSN, RN, CRNA 
Program Director, Otterbein University/Grant Nurse Anesthesia Program
p/ 614.823.1823
e/ bgarrett@otterbein.edu 
"What I love about my profession in that there is always a learning opportunity.  You will never know everything.  No matter how experienced you are, something can and will come along and humble you.  For this reason, respect for what you do must be maintained at all times."
Areas of interest: anesthesia (adult), anesthesia machine, and anesthesia pharmacology.

Jackie Haverkamp, DNP, RN, CNP, NHA
Chair, Department of Nursing

p/ 614.823.1628
e/ jhaverkamp@otterbein.edu
"Having both an administrative and clinical practice background allows me the privilege of working with students who have varied interests in: Medical-Surgical Nursing; Emergency Nursing; Gerontology; Hospice and related Oncology Care; Nursing Education; Health Care Management."

Karen Hughes MSN; RN, CNE
Director of Clinical Nurse Leader Program
p/ 614.823.1539
e/ khughes@otterbein.edu
" I am a champion for the CNL role in Central Ohio and enjoy collaborating with students on their CNL projects."
Areas of interest: medical surgical nursing; renal failure and diabetes; educational methods; incivility in higher education. . 

Patricia Keane, Ph.D., RN
Director of Graduate Studies in Nursing

p/ 614.823.1678
e/ PKeane@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: qualitative research, women's health, violence against women, osteoporosis, and health promotion.

Mary McKelvey, PhD, RN, CNS
Director of the ADN to MSN Program

p/ 614.823.1433
e/ MMcKelvey@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: stress and coping in minority (e.g. black and hispanic) families; economic concerns of women in the U.S.; psychological adaptation (e.g. depression, feeling of well-being, self-esteem) to stressors (e.g. divorce).

Barbara Nash, MS, RNC, CNS
p/ 614.823.1643
e/ bnash@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: primary care, college health, leadership, policy and the impact of humor on health.

Alicia Ribar, PhD, RN, CNP
Director of FNP Program

p/ 614.823.1253
e/ aribar@otterbein.edu
"Providing comprehensive health services including health education to families is central in being a great nurse practitioner.  Becoming a Nurse Practitioner has allowed me to grow in my nursing practice and develop close long standing relationships with patients and their families."
Areas of interest: pediatric and women's health; qualitative research; nutritional interventions affecting health; maternal-infant research; and lactation education.

Barbara H. Schaffner, PhD, CNP
Dean,the Graduate School & School of Professional Studies
Professor, Nursing

p/ 614.823.1735
e/ bschaffner@otterbein.edu

Joy Shoemaker, DNP, RN, CRNP
p/ 614.823.1912
e/ jshoemaker@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: women’s health; maternal-child health; pediatric adolescent medicine; and community health.

Margie Vogt, PhD, DNP, RN, CNP, CNE, FAANP
p/ 614.823.1426
e/ MVogt@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: quantitative/qualitative research, children with chronic illness, diabetes, oncology, camp nursing, nursing administration, and pediatric practitioner.  

Support Staff

Skills Laboratory
Trudy Mason, MS, RN
Skills Lab Supervisor
p/ 614.823.1226
e/ TMason@otterbein.edu

Aimee Cerny, BSN, RN
Nursing Skills Laboratory Instructor
p/ 614.823.1227
e/ acerny@otterbein.edu 

Vanessa Johnson MSN, RN
Nursing Skills Laboratory Instructor
p/ 614.823.1228
e/ vjohnson@otterbein.edu
"I love the nursing profession because you can do anything you want with it and take it anywhere you want to go while helping others."
 
Clinical Coordinators
Alicia Martinez-Spencer, MS, CNP
p/ 614.823.1614
e/ amartinezspencer@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: Geriatric care and pallative care.

Holly Herron, DNP, MS, RN, CNS, CEN, CCRN, EMT-P
p/ 614.823.1277
e/ hherron@otterbein.edu
Areas of interest: flight nursing; pre-hospital emergency care; emergency and critical care; nursing and pre-hospital education.

Admission Counselor/Recruiter
Dorothy Crider MS, RN
Graduate Nursing Admission Counselor/Recruiter
p/ 614.823.3272
e/ DCrider@otterbein.edu
"I love assisting nurses to discover their next career step and finding the educational program to take them there."
Areas of interest: thought field therapy, complementary therapies, spiritual care and health prevention.

Administrative Support

Sharon Buxton
Administrative Coordinator
p/ 614.823.1614
e/ SBuxton@otterbein.edu

Maureen Kaiser
Academic Administrative Assistant
p/ 614.823.1614
e/ MKaiser@otterbein.edu

/ Department of Nursing

Undergraduate Program

Maureen Kaiser
Science Center 236
p / 614.823.1614
f / 614.823.3131
e / MKaiser@otterbein.edu

Graduate Programs
Sharon Buxton
Science Center 236
p / 614.823.1614
f / 614.823.3131
e / SBuxton@otterbein.edu

 

/ Also see...