facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest

Bread and Roses Award

< Back to Women's Forum home page

The Otterbein University Women's Forum Bread and Roses Award was established in 1992 to honor women or men who have made significant contributions in support of women. This award honors an individual's accomplishments and efforts in the area of women's issues.  This year in 2017, we will celebrate the 25th Anniversary for this largest Women's Forum event on campus.

The History

The title of the award was inspired by a strike banner in 1912 with the slogan "We want bread and roses too!" The strike took place in Lawrence, Massachusetts, where a state law reduced the work week for children from 56 to 54 hours. Company owners retaliated by reducing all workers' hours to 54, which increased their workloads without an increase in wages. More than 20,000 men, women and children stayed out of work for 10 weeks in order to win concessions from the woolen mill owners. In 2005, Women's Forum collaborated with Women's Studies and included students as award recipients.

Student Bread and Roses Award

The Student Bread and Roses Award is given to a student who has made important contributions to women's studies at Otterbein. Those contributions may include leadership in feminist activism, demonstrated excellence in women's studies scholarship, or service to the Women's Studies Program. Preference will be given to a student with a minor in women's studies.


The Women's Forum gives the annual Bread and Roses Award to an outstanding individual or group who has made significant contributions in support of women through exemplary service. The award goes to a man, woman or group who has made an impact in women's issues that deserves to be recognized. That person may:

  1. Demonstrate a notable and/or sustained contribution to women's issues.
  2. Serve as a role model or advocate for women.
  3. Make an exceptional contribution to Otterbein University.

Since 1992, Women's Forum has given the Bread and Roses Award to a person (or group) who has made significant contributions in support of women through their exemplary service. The title of the award was inspired by a strike banner whose slogan read "We want bread and roses too!" In 1912, these banners were carried by women while striking against inhumane work conditions in the wool mills in Lawrence, Massachusetts.

Starting in 2005, Women's Forum is also honoring students who have shown leadership and exemplary service in support of women's issues.

If you would like to nominate a faculty, staff, student, alumni, or a group, please contact the Executive Board of Women’s Forum or find posters or announcements on campus in every February or March.

Past Winners

1992 Otterbein Women's Club
1993 Joanne Van Sant
1994 Karen Schwartzwalder
1995 Jeanne Talley
1996 Edna Smith Zech
1997 Marilyn Day
1998 Becky Smith and Sylvia Vance
1999 Grace Ross
2000 Otterbein Support Staff Council
2001 Ann Pryfogle
2002 Joanne Stichweh
2003 Cynthia Jackson and Paula Knight
2004 Tom Moore
2005 Nancy Woodson and Kathy Rainsburg
2006 Pat Salyer and Jennifer Robert
2007 Judy Strayer and Connie Deel
2008 Sarah Fatherly and Jamie Wilson
2009 Allison Prindle and Danielle Fabian
2010 Patti Rothermich, Kathlene Boone and Morgan Ritchie
2011 Niki Fayne and Garlena Bauer
2012 Dr. Susan Fagan, Dr. Tammy Birk and Sheema Masood.Profiles.
(Flickr photo album)
2013 Peggy McMains (Center for Teaching and Learning), Jacqlyn Schott (WGSS major), and Peggy Lobb (Psychology)
2014 Dr. Mary McKelvey, Dr. Kerry Strayer and Alex Shaffer
2015 Dr. Suzanne Ashworth, Dr. Beverly Good and Carrie Coisman
(Flickr photo album)
2016 Donna Rhodeback, Ashley Strausser, Mikayla Knerr, Mikah Barrueta
(Flickr photo album)

Interested in learning more about the Women's Forum?

Contact Dr. Shirine Mafi.