Students talk inside Courtright Memorial Library

The Joanne Van Sant Leadership Giving Society

Joanne Van Sant, better known as “Dean Van”, served Otterbein for more than 50 years. Through her leadership and mentorship, she had a positive impact on countless students, graduates, faculty, staff, and community leaders. In that spirit of unwavering commitment, Otterbein proudly established the Joanne Van Sant Leadership Giving Society. This annual giving society recognizes donors whose annual giving is at or exceeds $1,000. Annual giving is based on the fiscal year, which runs from July 1st to June 30th.

The 1847 Society

The 1847 Society recognizes those alumni, parents, and friends of Otterbein  University who have documented their commitment by naming the University as a  beneficiary in their estate planning. Anyone who has included Otterbein and provided documentation, is eligible for membership.

Thoughtful planning now ensures that future generations will continue to benefit from the exceptional educational experience that Otterbein has provided since its founding in 1847. A planned gift provides a perfect opportunity to honor a loved  one, an inspiring professor, or a field of study that has made an impact on your life. You can create a legacy that takes into account your family needs, reflects  your values and gives back to future generations. 

Annual Donor Recognition Dinner

We wish you could have seen the energy and excitement at our annual donor recognition dinner on Friday, October 21, 2016.

Check out the highlight reel, to see why this year's event was truly unique!

I loved my time at Otterbein. I wanted to perpetuate a place that did so much for me. I wanted to perpetuate a place that continues to develop and grow
David Cawley ’88, who through a trust provision will provide an endowment to support the Otterbein Christian Fellowship.
We know there is always a need for student assistance. Otterbein is such a good institution, and we believe in what it stands for. We have to support that.
Carolyn Boda Bridgman ’50 on her and her husband, Dick Bridgman ’49, supporting the Dr. Michael S. Bridgman Prize in Mathematics at Otterbein through their estate.

The Division of Institutional Advancement is located in Howard House at 131 W. Park St.

Office Hours
M-F: 8:30am - 5:00pm

Contact Donor Recognition 
Cathy Carson, Director of Donor Relations & Stewardship
p/ 614.823.1261